Identification and Criminal History Section
Washington State Patrol
P.O. Box 42633
Olympia, Washington 98504-2633
District 1 – Tacoma
2502 112th Street East
Tacoma, Washington 98445-5104
District 2 – Bellevue
2803 – 156th Avenue SE
Bellevue, Washington 98007
P1: Expunge, Vacate, or Seal Your Criminal Record in Washington State
If you have a criminal record in Seattle, Tacoma, or anywhere in Washington state and would like to expunge, vacate, seal, or clear your criminal record in Seattle, Tacoma or King, Pierce, or Thurston County, contact Petersen Law PLLC to talk to an experience attorney to help determine whether you are eligible under Washington law. The help of an experience attorney may also be able to help you regain or restore your right to possess a firearm and gun rights in Washington State.
P2: Expunge, Vacate, or Seal Your Criminal Record in Washington State
If you have a criminal record, whether a misdemeanor or felony, no matter how long ago, know the effect the criminal conviction can have on your life. Even after the case is done, closed, or dismissed, it can still be found by people who know where to look. Because of the resources the internet provides, most businesses and employers require background checks for those who apply for job, loans, an apartment, or admission to schools. With the unemployment rates at an all time high, having a clean record can be a necessity when competing against others for the same job.
Expunge, Vacate, or Seal a Misdemeanor Charge
For misdemeanors in the state of Washington, either 3 or 5 years must have passed from the date the case was closed, not the date of the incident or of conviction. Also, there must not be any criminal charges during that time period.
Expunge, Vacate, or Seal a Felony Charge
For felonies in the state of Washington, either 5 or 10 years must have passed from the date the case was closed, usually when the certificate of discharge has been placed in your court file. Nothing in the statute prohibits expunging more than one felony.
Expunge, Vacate, or Seal a Junvenile Charge
The law in Washington state also allows for certain juvenile records to be sealed. Generally speaking, if you have been convicted of a juvenile offense which is not a sex offense, and have no criminal cases pending or new criminal convictions you may be eligible. For class B felonies five years must have passed from entry of disposition. For class C felonies and misdemeanors, two years from entry of disposition. For diversions, two years since completion of the diversion agreement.
Effect of Successfully Vacating a Criminal Conviction in Washington State
If your criminal felony or misdemeanor charge has been successfully vacated or “expunged,” it means you can legally state that you have not been convicted of a crime. As a result it means you do not have to check those boxes on employment, loan, or school applications that ask whether you have been convicted of any criminal charges.